Thursday, January 3, 2013

Bogota Council Sine Die

  The Bogota Borough Council held their annual " Sine Die" Re-Origination meeting today that the Bogota Senior Center. The first order of business was to officially end the term of Councilman Michael Brophy, who did not run for re-election this year.  Mr. Brophy was given a plaque of recognition for his service to Bogota  from Mayor McHale on behave of the Council. He was also presented with a proclamation from the State of  New Jersey Legislative by Assemble Members Gordon Johnson, and Valerie Vainieri Huttle. Members of Council gave their thanks, and well wishes, to Mr. Brophy upon his departure from the Council. Mr. Brophy then had an opportunity to thank the other members of Council for the chance to work with then on behave of the Borough of Bogota. Mr. Brophy took a moment to remember the late Joseph Noto for his guidance when he first became a member of Council. He then thanked his friends and family for the support they gave him during his term in office, and enjoyed serving the people of Bogota.
  The 2013 Bogota Council began with the swearing in of, first , Councilman Jorge Nunez who successfully won re-election this November. he was swore in by Freeholder David Ganz with his wife and children by his side. Afterwards Councilman Nunez thanked the citizens of Bogota for re-electing for another term, and talked about how to keep the Borough strong with keeping taxes low. He then went on to congratulate Robert Robbins for his election , and acknowledged the two opponents Anne- Marie Mitchell, and Tina Trotta.
  Councilman Robbins was sworn -in by Assemblywoman Vainieri Huttle with his family standing by his side. He then thanked, and admitted his surprise in the amount of the vote he received. Councilman Robbins hope he could quickly learn from the other Council members and promised to do his best for the Borough.
  Councilman Tito Jackson was unanimously  elected as Council President. Joseph Monaghan was again appointed as Borough Council by a 5-1 with Councilman Nunez voting present. The other appointments were also passed by a 5-1 vote with Councilman Nunez again voting present. Other resolutions were passed by a 6-0 vote.
   Then Officers for the Borough Volunteer services were sworn-in. First the Fire Dept., then the First aid Squad, Rescue Squad, and the Auxiliary Police.
   Police Chief John Burke  then was given the opportunity to reward the members of the Police force who had not had a chance to be publicly recognize prior to today. Finally  there was a special honour for Officers Hector Liriano, and Kevin Geraghty for the effort in rescuing a citizen from a house fire on Sunday 30-Dec -2012, and a award for Capt. James Sepp for his work with the Special Olympics

Councilman Michael Brophy (R) being honoured by the New  Jersey Legislative.

Councilman Jorge Nunez being Sworn in

Councilman Robert Robbins being sworn in.

Councilman Tito Jackson being sworn-in as Council President

The Officers of the Fire Dept. being sworn- in

Members of the Rescue Squad being sworn-in 

Members of the First aid Squad being sworn-in.

Members of the Auxiliary  Police Dept. being sworn- in 
Officers Hector Liriano (L) & Kevin Geraghty being honour for their rescue effort on 30-Dec,

Sgt. Craig Lynch (L)  and Anna Ferris being honoured for their work with the Bogota Youth Academy .

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.