Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Loyalty Day

   The Ralph Hall Post # 5561 of the Veterans of Foreign Wars in Bogota held it's 2012 Loyalty Day event last night. It is the post chance to honour the former & current of the country's Armed Forces. It is a chance to reward the winners of the VFW sponsored writing contest that is held with the schools in Bogota.  It also recognizes the students who volunteer their time to be apart of the Junior Safety Patrol helping younger students get to and from school with-out harm. The evening started with members of the Bogota Vocaleers serving as a colour guard and bringing  the American flag to the stage.
  Post Commander Lt. Col (Ret.) Alex Hernandez welcoming the large crowd gathered in the hall. Col Hernandez took a moment to recognized a few of the Veteran in attendance, and they were greeted to a round of applause in honour of their service to the country.  He then talked about the meaning of the Frances Scott Key poem which was to become the Star Spangle Banner. Mr. Hernandez explain how the fly at Ft. McHenry kept flying while under attack during the War of 1812. This was followed by the Vocaleers singing the National Anthem, and other patriotic songs. Mayor Patrick McHale then spoke to welcome the crowd, and to remind then that there are still Americans serving the country in foreign lands.
    The presentation of a number of winners in the VFW's essay contests. This years themes were for the       " Voice of Democracy": Is there pride in serving in the Military. And the" Patriots Pen": Are you proud of your country? Other essays, colouring for the younger students were also awarded prizes. Then the student from Steen, Bixby, and St. Joseph's Schools had their student who volunteer as Safety Patrol members recognized for their service as well.

Members of the Bogota Vocaleers serving as the colour guard.

Post Commander  Lt. Col Alex Hernandez  talking about what the words  of the Star Spangled Banner mean.   

Local Veterans being applauded by the audeince.

The Bogota Vocaleers preforming.

Shaun Currie receiving his award from Earl Coppock 

Aishwarya Nair reading her essay.

Christina McCarthy reading her essay. 

Shawn Tarquino receiving his award from Aux. Pres. Mary Wagner. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.