Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Primary Elections

Today Tuesday 3- June -2014 the Borough of Bogota is  holding their Primary elections.
 The Republican  ticket will go unchallenged with current Bogota Councilman Chris Keleman running for Mayor. Along with Daniele Fede and Donald Hunter being the two candidate for Borough Council.
Also in the Republican Primary  for the U.S. House of Representative Congress Scott Garrett , County Executive, and Freeholder Robert Avery Bernadette Coghlan- Walsh are running unchallenged for the Republican nomination for the General Elections in November.  The One choice is for the Nomination for U.S Senate  they are: Jeff Bell, Brian Goldberg, Murray Sabrin, and Richard Pezzullo.
   There are two groups running  in this year Primary to represent the Democratic Party in the General Elections in November. They are listed in the order they will appear on the ballot.  One is the “Bogota Democrats for Reform”. They are George Silos for Mayor , Councilman Evaristo Burdiez Jr.  and Tina Trotta for Borough Council. 
  The other group is the “Real Bogota Democrats”  they are Mayor Tito Jackson, Councilwoman Lisa Kohles and Ingrid Brito .
  The Candidates for Mayor:
- George Silos: In 2005 Mr. Silos was elected to Bogota Borough Council as a Republican, then in June of his first year in  office changed parties to become a member of the Democratic party.  After a little more of a year in office he resigned his seat on the Borough Council after a number of disagreements with then Mayor Steve Lonegan.
- Tito Jackson Current Mayor of Bogota.  Mr Jackson was elected to Borough Council in 2008.  In 2013 Mr. Jackson  was named Acting Mayor when former Mayor Pat McHale resigned. Mr.  Jackson then assumed the Office of Mayor in  November of 2013.
  The Candidates for Borough Council:
-Evaristo Burdiez Jr: Currently  severing his first full term as a Member of Bogota Council when being elected in 2011. He was first appoint to Borough Council to replace Tara Sharp who resigned from Office in August of 2011.
- Tina Trotta: Was a candidate for Borough Council in 2012 running on the Republican ticket.
- Lisa Kohles: Current Councilwoman, was appointed to Council in 2013 to fill the seat vacated by Tito Jackson when he became Mayor of Bogota.
-Ingrid Brito: Was a Candidate for a seat on the Board of Education in 2013.
 Other local elections will be for County Committee  positions they are:
Luchy Jackson & Michelle Rupar and Santiago De La Cruz & Robert Ferro  one Female and Male candidate needs to be chosen.

There will also be two candidates running for the Nomination  the U.S. House of Representative: they are  Roy Cho and Diane Sarie

The  primary election will be on Tuesday 3- June with the polls opening at 6:00a and remain open until 8:00p.

Polls are located at the at :
-- For Districts 1& 6 it is the Bogota Recreation Center at 162 W. Main St.
   Districts 1&6 is that part of the Borough located West of the Railroad tracks.

-- For Districts 2&3 it is the Gym of  Bogota High School at 1 Henry Luthin Pl.  please use the door towards the back of the building on the North side of the Building.
  Districts 2& 3  is that part of the Borough located East of the Railroad tracks & North of Beechwood Ave

--  For Districts 4&5 it is  in the Gym of the Roy Bixby School at Maplewood & Fischer Aves.
     Districts 4 &5  is that part of the Borough located East of the Railroad tracks & South of Beechwood Ave.

Ward Dist. Address
1 Bogota Recreation Center - 162 West Main Street
2 Bogota High School Gym - One Henry Luthin Pl. (Left Rear of Bldg)
3 Bogota High School Gym - One Henry Luthin Pl. (Left Rear of Bldg)
4 E. Roy Bixby School Gym. Maplewood& Fischer Aves
5 E. Roy Bixby School Gym. Maplewood & Fischer Aves.
6 Bogota Recreation Center-162 West Main St.

It is ask that one to  vote for Mazzway Photos LLC, the Parent Company of  Bogota Blog NJ  at :  https://wellsfargoworks.com/project?x=us-en_viewentriesandvote_758_ For a $25,000  prize to help expand Bogota Blog NJ . Voting ends 30- June Vote as often as possible.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.